Press Release
The Poetry of Memory

Curator:
Eleftherios Ikonomou

Opening: Friday, September 21st 2018
Kara Mousha Pasha Mosque
Arkadiou & V. Hugo st. junction
Contemporary Art Museum of Crete
32 Mesologhiou str., Rethymnon



The Contemporary Art Museum of Crete inaugurated on Friday, September 21st 2018 its new production entitled The Poetry of Memory.  
The exhibition’s title was connected with the issue of memory which is the main subject of the artworks created by the exhibition’s curator, Mr. Eleftherios Ikonomou and 16 more artists.  
The aforementioned exhibition has been organized by courtesy of the Region of Crete.

Both the issue and importance given to memory have been looked into within all scopes of human thought and creation and many philosophers, philologists, therapists and art people have been concerned with this issue. 

Three generations of Greeks took part in the exhibition; all of them having travelled and lived for a long period of time in the countries of Northern Europe and mainly in Berlin. After a long-lasting experience and research, these artists went from the process of real facts and fictions, stored it, looked upon the future and created artworks placing a great importance on their present life.

The exhibitions’ artworks were a combination of different trends being expressed through the art of painting, the photographic printings and the installations.

The following mentioned artists took part in the aforementioned exhibition:
Antonakis (Christodoulou, www.antonakis.org), Blind Adam (Thanos Kyriakides, www.blindadamvision.com), Christina Dimitriadis (www.christinadimitriadis.com), Dionisis Kavallieratos (www.dionisiskavallieratos.com), Giorgos Lagoudianakis  (www.giorgoslagoudianakis.blogspot.gr), Sifis Lykakis (www.sifislykakis.de), Giannis Markopoulos (www.markopoulos.de), David Benforado (www.davisbenforado.com), Christos Bouronikos (www.bouronikos.de), Lila Polenaki (www.lilapolenaki.com), Maria Polyzoidou (www.mariapolyzoidou.com), Vasileia Stylianidou (www.stylianidou.com), Evanthia Tsantila (www.evanthiatsantila.com), Dimitris Tzamouranis  http://www.galeriemichaelhaas.de/de/kuenstler/dimitris-tzamouranis), Panos Famelis (www.panosfamelis.com), Socrates Fatouros (http://facebook.com/socratesfatouros).

For the present exhibition, a bilingual catalogue is available.
The exhibition lasted until the 17th of March 2019. Moreover, guided tours and educational programs were hold.

CONTACT:
CONTEMPORARY ART MUSEUM OF CRETE
Community Enterprise of the Municipality of Rethymnon
32 Mesologhiou str., 74131, Rethymnon
Τ: +30 28310 52530, F: +30 28310 52689
E-mail: info@cca.gr • http\\:www.cca.gr

The Poetry of Memory exhibition

Eric Giovon
Creative Varieties
29 June - End of October 2019
Ibrahim Han Mosque - Fortezza